Obligatory Top 50 Films List


Last year I compiled a list that detailed my favorite films of all-time. I struggled as to what numeric limitation I should put on it, but I figured 50 was an extensive enough length. One day I’ll go above and beyond that number. Anywho, with the year going by and having seen many “new” films, I figured I’d make a redacted list to include my recent watches. There aren’t any over the top changes, but the additions have altered the landscape a bit. One thing I must admit, I don’t think my number one film will ever change… Eternal Sunshine is too perfect in my book. Hell, I’m even willing to say that Punch -Drunk Love is locked in at the number two spot. I guess only time will tell. The rest of the list always seems to be shifting up and down depending on my mood.

50. Edward Scissorhands
49. The Godfather Part II
48. Zodiac
47. Artificial Intelligence
46. Inglourious Basterds
45. Les Diaboliques
44. Little Miss Sunshine
43. The Bicycle Thief
42. Pan’s Labyrinth
41. Man on Wire
 
40.  4 Months, 3 Weeks, 2 Days
39.  King Kong (2005)
38.  The Wrestler
37.  (500) Days of Summer
36.  Wall-E
35.  The Departed
34. Signs
33.  North by Northwest
32. In Bruges
31.  The Godfather
 
30. Once
29. Memento
28. Kramer vs. Kramer
27. The Sandlot
26. Goodfellas
25. The Wizard of Oz
24. The Truman Show
23. Amelie
22. Monster’s Inc.
21. Superbad
 
20. The Dark Knight
19. South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut
18. The Pride of the Yankees
17. The Apartment
16. Meet Me in St. Louis
15. Cinema Paradiso
14. The 400 Blows
13. The Third Man
12. Boogie Nights
11. Magnolia
                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
10. The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
9. Singing in the Rain
8. Lost in Translation
7. Children of Men
6. Almost Famous
5. There Will Be Blood
4. Dumb and Dumber
3. Adaptation
2. Punch-Drunk Love
1. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
 
 
So, what are your favorite films? Oh, and if anyone’s going to hate my love for 2005’s King Kong, you can just
2 thoughts on “Obligatory Top 50 Films List

  1. Your mentioning of Ghostbusters has me rethinking my list. I don’t think there will ever be a film that blends action and comedy as well Ghostbusters. Not to mention Bill Murray is beyond awesome.

Leave a Reply

